Frequently Asked Questions

  ADA/508 friendly site


When is a dog license required?

Every dog, regardless of age, owned or harbored in New York State for longer than 30 days, must be licensed.
The Following are the only exceptions:
If the dog is under four months of age and will not be allowed to run off the owner's premises
If a non-resident brings a dog into New York State for less than 30 days and the dog is licensed accord to the resident state's licensing laws.
Dogs confined to the premises of any public or private hospital, research institution or a Class A Dealer with a certificate of exemption from the Commissioner.

Was this answer helpful?